beaver ain’t no dumbbell

while perusing this free social network site that you’ve probably never heard of, the beaver noticed jordan lewis (all classical fm’s computer engineer extraordinaire) proclaiming the year without a santa claus as the greatest tv christmas special ever made.  what would get your vote?  for me, i’d have to give the top award to will vinton’s claymation christmas.  first popping up on network television in ’87, it’s a relative newbie to the holiday canon; but what it lacks in nostalgia it more than makes up for with incredible animation, intelligent writing, amazing music, and lol humor.  without question, the show’s highlight is the paris bellharmonic’s (almost) virtuosic performance of a ukrainian classic.  *pour yourself a wee dram of peppermint schnapps, cozy up by the blazing yule log, and click here for the finest two-and-a-half minutes of made-for-holiday-tv.  mr. lewis, this one’s for you…

4 Responses to “beaver ain’t no dumbbell”


  1. 1 Christa Wessel December 15, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I’m with Jordan. Clever as those claymation bells might be, ain’t NOTHIN’ gonna top the Heat Miser!

  2. 2 Jordan Lewis December 15, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Well after that ringing endorsement I really don’t need to say much other than I can only vaguely remember even watching that x-mas special. So I will at least give it another viewing this year.

    I am a big fan of all animation from early Ray Harryhausen to Rankin & Bass to Will Vinton’s great claymation, they all have something to give to the art form. As I like to say: I’ll watch any animated show at least once!

    My most recent find was the early 60’s Marvel Comics TV shows. I watched a few of the early episodes of Thor. And while they are no great shakes as far as animation goes, I enjoyed them for trying to transfer the mythos to a new medium.

  3. 3 Slim Timba December 16, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Early 60’s Marvel Comics TV shows?? Now you’re talking my language!

  4. 4 Rachel H (@racheljoon) December 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Aww I looked for these on Netflix and didn’t see ’em.


Leave a Reply

