peter frajola tackles 10 questions

*please note that peter is the associate concertmaster with the oregon symphony, which essentially ranks him as #3 in the grand orchestral hierarchy.  this is a big deal.  nevertheless, he still has to turn pages for #2 during concerts.  -cb

what is your connection to the oregon symphony?

My parents both played violin in the Oregon Symphony, and I grew up listening to this orchestra from the time I was a kid.  I’m still trying to listen, and I’m still sort of a kid.

why is your instrument so awesome?

The violin is the heart and soul of ANY group, large or small.  (Gee, I’m not biased!)  Every great composer knew this and wrote their best music for us.

what’s so great about experiencing classical music live?

Live music happens only once.  It’s never the same interpretation, inspiration, or reaction twice.

do you have a favorite orchestral work this season?

For my money, Classical #14 will be tough to beat.  Tchaikovsky’s 5th symphony and the Sibelius Violin Concerto!  I also love working with Jeff Tyzik in our Pops concerts, and Charles Floyd in his stunning Gospel shows he’s brought to us.  They just rock the house!

how do you feel at the end of a concert?

If I haven’t embarrassed myself at least a little, I probably wasn’t trying hard enough.  I usually do.

if you weren’t a musician, what profession would you choose?

Definitely a demolition-derby driver.  Could there be anything more fun?

if i were to buy you a drink, what would you order?

Short of an ’85 Mouton Rothschild, I might let you buy me a Scotch.

what composer really rocks your world?

Bach.

are you stoked by any non-classical music?

My wife tortures me with Aerosmith, the Beatles, Tom Petty, AC/DC, Green Day, Zep, Sabbath.  For shame.

what sets the oregon symphony apart from other orchestras?

Carlos!  Our Music Director is an exceptionally gifted musician, and has us playing at a consistently high level unsurpassed in orchestras today.

0 Responses to “peter frajola tackles 10 questions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

