jennifer arnold tackles 10 questions

what is your connection to the oregon symphony?

I’m a section violist, meaning I rotate within the viola section.

 

why is your instrument so awesome?

The viola is awesome because it is not the violin. (I’m trying to start some drama) Seriously though, the sound of the viola is what makes it special, especially the ability to create dark tones.

 

what’s so great about experiencing classical music live?

Live music is just more entertaining.  Not only do you hear the music and experience it with the musicians, you get to see their reactions, especially if you sit up close.

 

do you have a favorite orchestral work to play?

I can’t pick just one so I’m going to list a couple.  Mahler 9, Brahms 4, Mozart 40, Ein Heldenleben, Rite of Spring, Daphnis et Chloe (Ravel)

 

how do you feel at the end of a concert?

I never go home directly after concerts, I have to go out because I’m usually still on an after concert high.

 

if you weren’t a musician, what profession would you choose?

I used to say some sort of doctor, but now I’ve become queasy so I’d say PR for a sports franchise/network, preferably basketball.

 

if i were to buy you a drink, what would you order?

Just like before, I can’t pick just one.  Right now I’m into Ciroc vodka, but most places in PDX don’t have it.  After concerts you will probably see me with a glass of Red wine or a Hot Monkey vodka drink at the Heathman.  If the performance wasn’t fabu then scotch.

 

what composer really rocks your world?

Brahms…I have one of his works tatted on my back, now I just have to figure out where to put his name.

 

are you stoked by any non-classical music?

Michael Jackson is my number one.  I had a MJ themed birthday bash this year with mandatory costumes to attend, it was awesome.  Basically I grew up on Pop, R&B, Gospel, and Jazz.  My daily playlists include, MJ, Madonna, John Mayer, Stevie Wonder, the Jacksons, and anything 80s.  That said, I’m one of those people that knows a lot of songs and will sing them badly in public.

 

what sets the oregon symphony apart from other orchestras?

I would say the relaxed atmosphere/attitude of the orchestra.  My first rehearsal in 2005 I was surprised and delighted with the casual rehearsal attire of the orchestra.  The fact that you can address Carlos by his first name and not “maestro” is amazing as well as the open door policy of management.  I think Management and Carlos have heard me say/write “Bring Back the Overture” on many occasions and I finally convinced Carlos to put Carnival Overture on a program this season, took me two years, but I got it.

1 Response to “jennifer arnold tackles 10 questions”


  1. 1 Dan Rasay March 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Violas are awesome because they burn longer than violins in a pinch when you need to make a fire. 😉


Leave a Reply

